Author Topic: Pick & Place Adapter for 3D Printers  (Read 4931 times)

Offline RoGeorgeTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Pick & Place Adapter for 3D Printers
« on: February 10, 2018, 11:24:49 am »
Where would it be a good place to ask about building/upgrading 3D printers? Is there any forum similar with EEvblog, but for 3D printers instead of electronics and test equipment?

I am trying to design and build a custom delta printer. The goal would be to use it not only as a 3D printer, but as a pick and place machine, too. Since I have no previous experience with 3D printing nor pick and place, before starting the build I would like to ask about some of the design choices I made.

Which forum would you recommend for that, please?

Later edit, goal changes: An universal SMD feeder + vacuum head to transform existing 3D printers (FDM) into automated Pick and Place machines able to assemble a full PCB or a whole panel without manual intervention.

The adapter consists of an unconventional SMD feeder and a small vacuum head. The same feeder can handle all types of SMD parts, and it is placed near the existing printer. The vacuum head is attached to the existing extruder of the 3D printer, by simply using a clamp.

Pros
- The same feeder will handle all the required SMDs, regardless of their type
- Continuous feeding for identical or panelized boards, no feeder setup required in between
- Easy to attach/detach the whole adapter (in a minute or so).
- No modding or dismantle required for the existing 3D printer.
- Fully automated PCB assembly
- Should work with almost any 3D printer
- Much smaller footprint than an industrial machine
- Cheap
- Free and open source

Cons
- Much slower than industrial grade Pick and Place machines
« Last Edit: April 15, 2018, 12:14:12 pm by RoGeorge »

Offline donotdespisethesnake

• Super Contributor
  • Embedded stuff
Re: Which forum to use when designing a delta 3D printer / pick&place machine?