Author Topic: 10V precision voltage reference  (Read 4962 times)

Offline fcbTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Test instrument designer/G1YWC
    • Electron Plus
10V precision voltage reference
« on: January 24, 2018, 07:46:55 pm »
I've just released our first batch of LT1021 based 10V references, they're on our website (www.FisherInstruments.com) and I've put some up on eBay also.
These have been developed from an in-house prototype we built a while back and I've been testing a couple of batches of (50 units) for a couple of months now.

Ben
https://electron.plus Power Analysers, VI Signature Testers, Voltage References, Picoammeters, Curve Tracers.

The following users thanked this post: rsjsouza, kj7e

Online RandallMcRee

• Frequent Contributor
Re: 10V precision voltage reference
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2018, 08:00:52 pm »
Looks interesting. Something seems to be lost between English and American here:

When I was young there was a sign on the wall in my grandfather’s film cutting room, it went something like this “Fred was a wheeltapper – one year Fred changed 387 wheels before he realised his hammer had a crack in it.”

Having experienced ‘wheeltappers syndrome’ a few times in the past (including with a venerable Fluke multimeter) we embarked on developing our own precision voltage reference.

What is wheeltapper's syndrome?

I'm guessing your multimeter was out of calibration and you did not realize, but still not getting the wheeltapper thing...ie.  :-//

Offline fcbTopic starter

• Super Contributor
    • Electron Plus
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2018, 08:04:07 pm »
In the old days, a man with a large hammer would go round steam-trains and hit the wheels.  By listening to the sound (ringing) they made he could tell if there was a crack in the wheel.

Essentially Fred was using a defective hammer, so he ended up declaring perfectly good wheels faulty.  So it's been known in my family as "wheeltappers".