Author Topic: 3458A Issues  (Read 8253 times)

Offline plesaTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
3458A Issues
« on: November 02, 2016, 08:00:17 pm »
HP 3458A is quite popular on this forum and I would like to ask for your experience with this meter.
Like how long you have it?
What is your meter drift between calibrations?
7 days drift (according to service note http://literature.cdn.keysight.com/litweb/pdf/3458A-18A.pdf)
Did you replaced any component in this meter or board(s)?

Offline HighVoltage

• Super Contributor
Re: 3458A Issues
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2016, 09:36:59 pm »
I am kind of new to the 3458A and over the first couple weeks I did the CAL 72 stability test as described in the SN18A.
And the drift was 0.11ppm per day over 7 days.

My 3458A was built in 2012, sold in 2013 and never really used, may be not used at all.
So, right now I have it ON all the time and will wait a few more weeks or month and then I will have it calibrated officially.
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.

The following users thanked this post: plesa

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2016, 09:47:06 pm »
I forgot to add my CAL 72 stability test data, in 7 days it is fluctuating -0.023 to -0.011 ppm/day. Meter internal temperature is fluctuating 0.5°C.
The difference between calibrations was -0.9 ppm/6 months for Vref and  +1.26ppm for Rref.
Unit 3458A/002 (4ppm).

Offline ManateeMafia

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2016, 10:41:59 pm »
This is from a 3458A OPT 002. Of note, the A1 board was replaced before they sent it back but this is AS RECEIVED data.
I don't have any CAL?72 data. I sent this meter in for cal within a year of buying it.

Here are my 10V DC range results from Keysight.
MIN ----MEASURED---MAX
2014  Jun
 9.9999349   9.9999921   10.0000575

2015 Jun
 9.9999292   10.0000089 10.0000518

2016 Sep
 9.9999431  10.0000112  10.0000657

Offline TiN

• Super Contributor