Author Topic: estimating the t.c. of my current shunts  (Read 3935 times)

Offline Marcus_STopic starter

• Contributor
estimating the t.c. of my current shunts
« on: April 18, 2017, 06:33:14 pm »
Hi,

searching for "The Ampere" at home I took some aluminium and a milling machine and made a simple housing for shunt resisitors (image_1 and image_2).  I filled these casings with an Isabellenhütte PBH 1R0 1% and an Isabellenhütte Isaplan A-H2 0R1 0,1% (Manganin). And then I had to try to characterize them... Perhaps starting with the temperature coefficient? Not that easy if using a 6,5 digit multimeter. Keithley praises the current-reversal (delta-technique) for this purpose but I could find some application notes using this method only, no real-world measurement data. But I found a button "V1-V2" on my Keithley 2182... We will see what will happen...

Therefore I started playing around connecting the multimeters with GPIB-cables and a Prologix-adapter and some "programming" using EZGPIB and doing some preliminary tests...  After adding some additional cables and sensors and meters and some high-performance thermal insulation to the experiment it ended like shown in image_3...

This can be understood much easier looking at mage_4... or image_5...

The voltage at the shunt resistor was measured using the K2182. The K2182 was configured to 5NPLC, fixed range 10 mV, LSYNC off, heavy filtering: 100 values into the digital filter, delta measurement, 100 ms delay. The data were collected via GPIB. As I do not own a programmble current source I made such one using my K 230 voltage source and my 1 k "reference resistor" (which has a Dale RH 50 inside, measured t.c. = -0,75 ppm/K). The 230 was programmed to deliver +/- 10,00 V and was triggered by the VMCout of the 2182 (as necessary for delta-measurent). The moderate stability of the source might be the weakest point of this setup.