Author Topic: How do I Get Started  (Read 3520 times)

Offline Tom10000Topic starter

• Contributor
How do I Get Started
« on: November 20, 2017, 01:38:55 am »
Hello,

i am a student in sydney i am just wondering how i could get started in Metrology

Thank you

Offline CalMachine

• Frequent Contributor
  • Metrology Nut
Re: How do I Get Started
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2017, 02:20:06 am »
If you're a hands on type of person... grab a multimeter and start measuring things.

If you would like some text to read, you could check out Fluke's 'Calibration: Philosophy in Practice'
All your volts are belong to me

The following users thanked this post: Tom10000

Offline hwj-d

• Frequent Contributor
  • save the children - chase the cabal
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2017, 05:38:16 am »
Build your own LM399 based reference  ;)

Read and build Conrad Hoffman's "Mini Metrology Lab":
http://www.conradhoffman.com/mini_metro_lab.html

Look at YT "Scullcom Hobby Electronics":
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDqryeq1kMDSEQwltWqASrA/featured

Good luck  :-+
« Last Edit: November 20, 2017, 05:51:18 am by hwj-d »

Offline Vgkid

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2017, 06:04:02 am »
Funny you posted this , I have an interview with a companies calibration department in a few days. Not sure if I will get it(no work experience) , but still managed to get an interview. I have the education , knowledge in statistics , and have a pretty decent lab.
If you own any North Hills Electronics gear, message me. L&N Fan

Offline dl1640

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2017, 09:48:31 am »
first thing is to figure out the purpose

i think most people here is interested in precision stuff

metrolegy grade instruments usually very expensive it is a expensive hobby, money and time

it is better to have a position in company or institute who has a metrology department :)

then you get started easier...

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives