Author Topic: Measuring periodic phase noise by phase structure and difference functions  (Read 7549 times)

Offline JohnnyMalariaTopic starter

• Super Contributor
    • Enlighten Scientific LLC
[Please move if appropriate]

Hi,

I've been following a very interesting thread elsewhere in this forum concerning the measurement of oscillator stability and it has struck me how very similar the concepts and goals are to the mainstay of my work that seems at first to be a wholly unrelated discipline. However, the more I read about characterizing oscillator stability, the more I realize just how close it is to what I do.

I'd like to know if there is an unrecognized interdisciplinary overlap that may be of use.

Some background:

I am a physical chemist, specifically a colloid chemist, which means I study the behavior of nanoparticles dispersed in a material continuum. My particular focus is the measurement of the motion of charged nanoparticles in a liquid due to the application of an external electric field (electrophoresis). If a laser light is incident on the particles then the phase of the light scattered by them is determined by their position and the temporal change in the phase manifests itself as a Doppler frequency shift of the light.

The scattered light is mixed at a detector with unscattered light ('reference') that is frequency-shifted relative to the incident light by an amount wo (typ. 250Hz - 20kHz). For a perfect stationary scatterer, this leads to a sinusoidal detector signal with the same frequency as the difference between the reference and scattered light. This can be considered the ideal oscillator.

In a version of this experiment that I developed for my PhD (phase analysis light scattering (PALS)), three separable components to the phase are considered:

1. Random brownian motion due to particle diffusion (gaussian)
2. Linearly changing with time due to a constant velocity (e.g., settling)