Low Cost PCB's Low Cost Components

Author Topic: My first "Pro" handled DMM  (Read 2512 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Free_WiFi

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: it
My first "Pro" handled DMM
« on: May 20, 2017, 09:25:26 AM »
Im going to buy for my self my very 1st "Pro" handled DMM.
Im pretty newbie in electronics field,so i really need to ask the opinion of other peoples who really knows this stuff better then me.
Im undecided over the VC890 Voltcraft and Brymen 896s .
I've checked this video review on youtube about the VC 890 youtube.com/watch?v=DT2MU32la2c
It's seems to be a really nice meter made by UNI-T for Voltcraft ,very well build etc ...
I also checked a lot of videos about the Brymen 8xx ,but it's seem to me like the Vc890 is better or nicer in some others stuff then Brymen.
Pls correct me if im wrong and if you can tell me which of these DMM's i should be get .
Thanks for your time .
  :-DMM
« Last Edit: May 20, 2017, 09:39:17 AM by Free_WiFi »
 

Online jeroen79

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 404
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2017, 11:52:11 AM »
Please be specific.

What are your needs?
What will you use it for?

Since you compared the models already, exactly what 'some other stuff' of the VC890 seems 'better or nicer' than the BM869?
What makes the scales tip, for you?
« Last Edit: May 20, 2017, 11:57:05 AM by jeroen79 »
 

Offline Wytnucls

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2832
  • Country: be
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2017, 01:47:36 PM »
Both meters would be fine for a newbie.
The best features of the Voltcraft are the OLED screen and internal memory. The drawback is a shorter battery life.
You also get a 3 year warranty, instead of the usual 1 year for the Brymen.

The Brymen 869 is a more conventional meter, bulkier, with emphasis on electrical safety.

Dealing mostly with low voltage electronics, I would probably go for the cheaper Voltcraft with a 9V lithium battery (or 400mAh Lipo), due to the USB connectivity, internal logging and a more readable screen.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2017, 02:18:46 PM by Wytnucls »
 

Offline Free_WiFi

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: it
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2017, 06:34:08 PM »
I can buy the VC890 Voltcraft from Conrad,for the final price of Euro : 220.00
However i really like this Multimeter ,cuz it's seems to be very precise and also very, very well made .
Brymen does not deliver 3 years of guarantee ,so it's viceversa then VC890 do.
My needs from the multimeters like these are:
i need an more possible precise handled multimeter;
full with all modern extra features etc ...

So this is all :)
 

Online jeroen79

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 404
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2017, 11:04:10 PM »
My needs from the multimeters like these are:
i need an more possible precise handled multimeter;
full with all modern extra features etc ...
Well, you get more specific than this.
If only everyone could come up with requirements like this. 
::)
 

Online RandallMcRee

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 98
  • Country: us
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2017, 02:56:05 AM »
Personally, I'm holding out for a DMM that puts real emoticons on the screen.

None of this boring Volt, ampere crap...lets see
HIGH  |O VOLTAGE  >:D
or
 :box: RANGE >:( EXCEEDED  >:(

You know, more modern, suitable for the younger crowd.
 
The following users thanked this post: lowimpedance

Offline lowimpedance

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 815
  • Country: au
  • Watts in an ohm?
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2017, 09:27:43 AM »
Personally, I'm holding out for a DMM that puts real emoticons on the screen.

None of this boring Volt, ampere crap...lets see
HIGH  |O VOLTAGE  >:D
or
 :box: RANGE >:( EXCEEDED  >:(

You know, more modern, suitable for the younger crowd.
Now that got a  :) first thing Monday morning.  :-+.
You call that current ?.......
I'll show you current !
 the odd multimeter or 2 or 3 or 4...or........never mind
 

Offline Lightages

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 4057
  • Country: cl
  • Canadian po
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2017, 04:54:32 PM »
There will always be a balance between price, quality, features,  and safety. You can't get all at the same time so you must decide which matters more. You also need to look at features that might not be anything other than eye candy or features just to make the feature list longer, useful or not.

Many people will say that they aren't going to test 5000V and so they don't need a safe meter to just test things in the house and electrical wiring and power on the house. We see this argument so many times here. Please do some research on what the CAT ratings really mean and how they apply to you rather than dismissing them as nothing to worry about.

Look at the history of the manufacturer and decide if they have tried to imply or even lie about their ratings and certifications. If it has happened many times, why would they not do it again? If a manufacturer has lied about safety ratings, what about their accuracy specifications?

Build quality is a feature and should be directly compared to other features you might want. USB connectivity included in a meter is a good feature but what if you prefer a meter that will last longer without the USB connection?

Not many people have used Conrad meters compared to Brymen meters. The amount of complaints about either meter are going to be biased by the amount actually used.

Brymen has a long and respected reputation as an OEM for Amprobe, Greenlee, Extech, some others, and as Brymen themselves.

Conrad meters (made by Uni-T) have hardly any reputation. Uni-T meters do have a long and varied history of really bad meters to somewhat good.

Decide which matters to you most and get what is better for your needs but don't discount safety and build quality as being unimportant until you understand the application of the safety standards compared to your intended uses.

« Last Edit: May 22, 2017, 06:21:17 PM by Lightages »
I am NOT a distributor for Brymen.
 

Offline ap

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 141
  • Country: de
    • ab-precision
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2017, 05:15:09 PM »
You can get a used 28s or 29s from metrawatt for about this price, I would, for the purpose you describe, always prefer this.
Metrology and test gear and other stuff: www.ab-precision.com
 
The following users thanked this post: IRFP460

Offline P90

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 646
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2017, 05:52:06 PM »
You can get a used 28s or 29s from metrawatt for about this price, I would, for the purpose you describe, always prefer this.

+1
 

Offline The Soulman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 320
  • Country: nl
  • The sky is the limit!
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2017, 10:25:17 PM »
Wow that Uni-t Voltcraft is expensive! For a lot less you can get a brand new Metrawatt 2+ or for a little more than the Voltcraft
a Metrawatt world. Both do less and have a lower resolution, but reliability, battery life and accuracy will probably be better..
No point in making a point just to make a point, that would be pointless.
 
The following users thanked this post: Free_WiFi

Offline hwj-d

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Country: de
  • The economy of capitalism has NO social mission!
    • only Seafileserver
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2017, 05:29:30 AM »
Wow that Uni-t Voltcraft is expensive! For a lot less you can get a brand new Metrawatt 2+ or for a little more than the Voltcraft

Absolutely!

And for this money he can get a
Brymen-BM867s 159,00 € inkl. (edit: without temperatur-probe)
or a
Brymen-BM869s 219,00 € inkl.
in Europe.

In my opinion much better than this expensive C*-Uni-T stuff. I got mine in not more than three days.
(This should be no advertising, only a tip)
« Last Edit: May 23, 2017, 05:33:51 AM by hwj-d »
Sent from my an8008 using Patacake
 

Offline Free_WiFi

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: it
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2017, 06:08:38 AM »
Absolutely!

And for this money he can get a
Brymen-BM867s 159,00 € inkl. (edit: without temperatur-probe)
or a
Brymen-BM869s 219,00 € inkl.
in Europe.

In my opinion much better than this expensive C*-Uni-T stuff. I got mine in not more than three days.
(This should be no advertising, only a tip)
What do you think about an second hand Metra HIT 25s for 210 euros ?
 

Offline hwj-d

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Country: de
  • The economy of capitalism has NO social mission!
    • only Seafileserver
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2017, 07:38:58 AM »
Quote
What do you think about an second hand Metra HIT 25s for 210 euros ?

I would get this brandnew Brymen 867s without any risc. Maybe with extra temperatur and extra usb adapter. But didn`t own this Metrahit to judge it against the Brymen. My impression is, this Brymen is one of the best on the market, next to the much more expensive Fluke in the moment.
Sent from my an8008 using Patacake
 
The following users thanked this post: Free_WiFi

Offline Free_WiFi

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: it
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2017, 11:11:40 PM »
Wow that Uni-t Voltcraft is expensive! For a lot less you can get a brand new Metrawatt 2+ or for a little more than the Voltcraft
a Metrawatt world. Both do less and have a lower resolution, but reliability, battery life and accuracy will probably be better..

Scuse me sir.
But is the Metrawatt 2+ does offer the µA range ?
« Last Edit: May 30, 2017, 11:39:05 PM by Free_WiFi »
 

Offline The Soulman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 320
  • Country: nl
  • The sky is the limit!
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #15 on: May 31, 2017, 12:50:16 AM »
Wow that Uni-t Voltcraft is expensive! For a lot less you can get a brand new Metrawatt 2+ or for a little more than the Voltcraft
a Metrawatt world. Both do less and have a lower resolution, but reliability, battery life and accuracy will probably be better..

Scuse me sir.
But is the Metrawatt 2+ does offer the µA range ?

Nope, 60mA is the lowest range so it displays from 00,01mA to 60,00mA.
No point in making a point just to make a point, that would be pointless.
 

Offline The Soulman

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 320
  • Country: nl
  • The sky is the limit!
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #16 on: May 31, 2017, 12:54:42 AM »
No point in making a point just to make a point, that would be pointless.
 

Offline Electro Detective

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 906
  • Country: au
Re: My first "Pro" handled DMM
« Reply #17 on: June 03, 2017, 07:50:05 PM »
My first "Pro" handled DMM ???

Buy any FLUKE meter, working or not.

If it works, great! you have a TOP meter.  :clap:

If not, it will still get you into any work site just by waving it around  :-DMM and you can borrow (or 'swap') one of their Flukes,
get free coffee and food in the staff room, chat up clipboard wielding women about volts and nuts, and...hey, use your imagination  :D

It's a no brainer  :-+

Waving a Fluke meter  :-DMM can get you access to invading alien spaceships and give you the chance to check out (and 'borrow') some of their gadgetry and Fluke equivalent, and have a go at their food too (if it doesn't crawl).
Any drama at the entry door just pull hard on your cheek, and say you're one of them in earthling disguise as a HVAC tech,
summoned by The Leader to sort out the ships air-conditioner.

Too easy   ;D

« Last Edit: June 05, 2017, 01:19:48 PM by Electro Detective »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf