Author Topic: My first 10kOhm reference resistor  (Read 16393 times)

Online BU508ATopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Per aspera ad astra
My first 10kOhm reference resistor
« on: June 09, 2016, 08:52:49 pm »
Hello,

this is my first attempt to build a 10kOhm lab reference resistor to check ordinary DMM.

Bill of material:
- Vishay Y145310K0000V9L from Digikey
- Hirschmann binding post red, 4mm, part number: PKI 10 A AU RT
- Hirschmann binding post black, 4mm, part number: PKI 10 A AU SW
- Silver wire, 1mm diameter, pure silver (999/1000)
- Bopla case, part number Euromas II ET 210
- Solder: Felder "EL", diameter 0.75mm,  Sn96Ag04, part number: 20960720

Further improvements are planned, such as:
- shielding
- put in some sensors for temperature and humidity
- put in some silica gel
- put in something like an USB stick, so I can store calibration data etc. on it
- something else, which I'm not thinking of it right now  ;)

And here are some pictures:

“Chaos is found in greatest abundance wherever order is being sought. It always defeats order, because it is better organized.”            - Terry Pratchett -

Offline LA7SJA

• Regular Contributor
  • Acting user manual reader & forum search engine
Re: My first 10kOhm reference resistor
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2016, 09:13:41 pm »
How much difference is there between two and four wire measurements of the 10K resistor?

Johan-Fredrik
"If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is probably not for you"

• Super Contributor
  • Per aspera ad astra
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2016, 09:21:24 pm »
How much difference is there between two and four wire measurements of the 10K resistor?

My 7510 is reading:
- in 4W mode: 10000,000241 Ohms
- in 2W mode: 10000,000259 Ohms

I will do a 24h measure for both modes and post the data here, but not before next week.
“Chaos is found in greatest abundance wherever order is being sought. It always defeats order, because it is better organized.”            - Terry Pratchett -

Offline Vgkid