Author Topic: My TRIAX cable shielded box project for Keithley Instruments  (Read 44598 times)

Offline HighVoltageTopic starter

• Super Contributor
My TRIAX cable shielded box project for Keithley Instruments
« on: December 03, 2016, 04:23:32 pm »
Project 1
This is my first attempt to build a shielded box with a TRIAX Cable to measure very high resistance values with my Keithley 614 Electrometer. This meter has the dual pin TRIAX connector and I found a fitting cable.

These are the highlights of the materials used:

- Metal box with metal lid
- Bottom and side of the box covered with 5 mm thick PTFE (Teflon) plates
- Original Keithley TRIAX cable
- Outside shielding connected to the metal box (blue cable)
- Inside shielding extended with copper/silver-plated cable and Teflon insulation (orange cable),  (crimped)
- Inner core extended with copper/silver-plated cable and Teflon insulation (orange cable),  (crimped)
- Crocodile clips pure copper (crimped)

This Russian military glass resistor inside the box is marked with 100 GOhm and reads very stable 95.5 GOhm after a few minutes of not touching anything. So far I am happy with this box for this older Keithley 614 Electrometer.

OK, I am looking for improvements and hints of what to change or do differently for the next project.

My next box will be for the DMM7510 and 2450 SMU (3 pin TRIAX)
One improvement I would probably use are Triax Panel Mount Connectors.
But they are sooo expensive, same as withe the TRIAX cables.

Thanks for any suggestions.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2016, 11:07:42 am by HighVoltage »
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.

The following users thanked this post: bck

Offline VintageNut

• Frequent Contributor
Re: My TRIAX cable shielded box project for Keithley Instruments
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2016, 04:54:12 pm »