Author Topic: OS for GPIB, logging, graphing, voltnutting and such.  (Read 3259 times)

Offline kj7eTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Damon Stewart
OS for GPIB, logging, graphing, voltnutting and such.
« on: April 25, 2018, 04:35:37 pm »
Going to finally setup a workstation for the electronics lab, I have an extra, late model Mac Mini I can use with a NI GPIB to Ethernet interface as well as a ICS 9065 GPIB Ethernet hub.  For work, I use Linux and OSX, but I'm comfortable with Windows as well.  I can set the Mac Mini up on either of the big three, OSX, Linux, or Windows.  Which OS would be best suited for general metrology use including graphing/logging applications?  Keep in mind, I'm a noob with GBIB and have lots to learn.

Offline GEOelectronics

• Regular Contributor
Re: OS for GPIB, logging, graphing, voltnutting and such.
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2018, 05:36:42 pm »
Mark me as +1 on the noob to this area of interest. Definitely something that's on the bucket list.

This will be a great topic for me to watch and try to follow along.

Is there a photo album on this blog showing home workstations?

Late last year it became obvious that a "workbench" wasn't what  was needed, because one project was never quite finished before another project interjects itself.

Now the intention is several "workstations".

The problem isn't with the concept, it's with the implementation with limited space, but so far so good.

Anyhow, great topic, thanks for starting it, just remember type slow because I can't read all that fast.

Geo

Offline TiN

• Super Contributor
    • xDevs.com
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2018, 05:50:47 pm »
Can't get much smaller than Raspberry Pi running some Linux and storing data into CSV-files, with little help of linux-gpib and USB GPIB dongle (or network gateway, etc).
I have guides how to setup few of popular industry standard GPIB dongles like NI GPIB-USB-HS and Agilent one on my site :).