Author Topic: Calibrating 53132A  (Read 2957 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online glarsson

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 149
  • Country: se
Re: Calibrating 53132A
« Reply #25 on: November 02, 2017, 04:23:13 PM »
I guess "2" is only worthwhile if A is generated say 10 meters away and B is local and you only have one long coax.
 

Offline texaspyro

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 528
Re: Calibrating 53132A
« Reply #26 on: November 05, 2017, 03:54:33 AM »
The board house has said the new boards have shipped DHL express.
 

Offline texaspyro

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 528
Re: Calibrating 53132A
« Reply #27 on: November 09, 2017, 11:26:29 AM »
Bare boards have arrived... they look good. 

Now to build one up and see if the new layout and 1mm board thickness / 50 ohm signal traces make any measurable difference.
 

Offline texaspyro

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 528
Re: Calibrating 53132A
« Reply #28 on: November 12, 2017, 03:19:05 PM »
Now to build one up and see if the new layout and 1mm board thickness / 50 ohm signal traces make any measurable difference.

Oh, yeah... it made a difference.   A horrible difference.   Massive ringing on the outputs.   Massive coupling of crapitude onto the precision 5.000V gain cal signal and elsewhere.   Damn... looks like yet another spin of the board... back to the original layout with only the switch connections fixed.    I'm also changing the 50 ohm input terminator to a 1 watt one.  We'll see how it turns out in a couple of weeks...
 

Offline texaspyro

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 528
Re: Calibrating 53132A
« Reply #29 on: November 28, 2017, 06:50:09 AM »
I have send the next rev of the calibrator off to the fab.   I replaced the output driver chip with a 74ACT245.   This allowed for a MUCH cleaner layout with shorter traces and better power distribution.  Also, all the SMT passives are oriented in the same direction which will make the assembler happier.
 

Offline VK5RC

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1745
  • Country: au
Re: Calibrating 53132A
« Reply #30 on: November 28, 2017, 09:21:01 AM »
If there is a spare kit,  please count me in.
Thanks, Rob.
Whoah! Watch where that landed we might need it later.
 

Offline texaspyro

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 528
Re: Calibrating 53132A
« Reply #31 on: November 28, 2017, 11:13:01 AM »
If there is a spare kit,  please count me in.

I've got boards and parts to build 50 units... 
 
The following users thanked this post: VK5RC

Offline Tony_G

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 313
  • Country: us
Re: Calibrating 53132A
« Reply #32 on: November 28, 2017, 02:00:46 PM »
Outstanding. Please let me know how much plus shipping to 98056 and I'll shoot that over to your PayPal account.

Looking forward to it.

TonyG
 

Offline texaspyro

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 528
Re: Calibrating 53132A
« Reply #33 on: November 28, 2017, 02:06:24 PM »
Outstanding. Please let me know how much plus shipping to 98056 and I'll shoot that over to your PayPal account.

The new boards should be here in a couple of weeks... hopefully.

I'll know more about the price when I get a new quote from a different assembly house.  The one that built my Symmerticom X72 breakout boards screwed me royally (quoted soldering the through hole parts and then refused to do them...  I spend all weekend soldering a BUNCH of connectors and de-fluxing the boards).

I'm still shooting for something around $30 assembled.
 

Offline texaspyro

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 528
Re: Calibrating 53132A
« Reply #34 on: December 07, 2017, 01:27:11 PM »
New PC boards have been shipped.  Should be in early next week.  All the new parts and a stainless SMT stencil have arrived.
 
The following users thanked this post: VK5RC


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf