Author Topic: Zero Ohm DIY 4-wire standard  (Read 37887 times)

Offline VintageNutTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Zero Ohm DIY 4-wire standard
« Reply #50 on: November 27, 2016, 11:29:44 am »

This is extremely cool. Nice work! My guess is that no more than microvolts will develop across the driven pair of contacts. The resistance there is probably micro-ohms. That would be extremely useful information as to what exactly is the resistance between vertices of the device. Another exercise!

Something I had not thought of that your FEA points out is that while the potential diff may be 0, the value of each point is somewhere between the two driven vertices. Very interesting info!

You can download a free and surprisingly capable FEA program called FEMM. I usually use it for magnetics but it will also do current flow problems. I've never done it before, so may have some horrible error, but here's the result setting the upper hole at 1V and the lower left hole at 0V. You can see the other two holes do come close to equal potentials.
working instruments :Keithley 260,261,2750,7708, 2000 (calibrated), 2015, 236, 237, 238, 147, 220,  Rigol DG1032  PAR Model 128 Lock-In amplifier, Fluke 332A, Gen Res 4107 KVD, 4107D KVD, Fluke 731B X2 (calibrated), Fluke 5450A (calibrated)

Offline Assafl

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #51 on: November 27, 2016, 01:43:25 pm »
What about the sense terminals? Don't they take some (tiny) bias current where the sense terminals are?

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #52 on: November 27, 2016, 01:55:31 pm »
The sense portion of a 4-wire device consists of a low (hopefully) impedance source and a high impedance voltmeter.

For the tetrajunction, the device sense terminal are some micro-ohms or less and the voltmeter is 1 megohm or greater.

How can adding a parallel resistance help this in any way?