Author Topic: Play sound file using PIC24  (Read 4011 times)

Offline aurmerTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Insert text here.
Play sound file using PIC24
« on: May 23, 2016, 11:24:50 pm »
BACKGROUND: I am in the design phase of this project. I have tentatively selected the PIC24FJ64GA004 http://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/en/PIC24FJ64GA004]([url]http://www.microchip.com/wwwproducts/en/PIC24FJ64GA004)[/url] as my controller.
This widget will be produced in large quantities, so low cost and minimizing chip count is our priority.

DESIGN SPEC: The widget will play sound files on demand. This is my first time playing sound from a µC, and believe I understand the most basic design...

-downsample original CD quality (8bit, 4k-8kHz)
-drive data on 8 output pins to an external DAC
-amplify DAC output
-connect speaker

I have come here to ask the pro's. What considerations will I need in my design? I have a few in mind already, but what am I missing?

-- sufficient storage capacity for raw sound data.
-- DAC bandwidth
-- Volume control in the amp circuit
-- ???
If I just asked the wrong question, shame on me for asking before I was ready for help. Please be kind and direct me to a resource which will teach me the question I SHOULD be asking. Thank you.

• Regular Contributor
  • Insert text here.
Re: Play sound file using PIC24
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2016, 11:26:20 pm »
Alternatively, how could I design this to use fewer pins than the 8-bit width of the data?
If I just asked the wrong question, shame on me for asking before I was ready for help. Please be kind and direct me to a resource which will teach me the question I SHOULD be asking. Thank you.

Offline ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2016, 11:48:35 pm »
Alternatively, how could I design this to use fewer pins than the 8-bit width of the data?
Use a micro with DAC peripheral. Or use PWM.
Alex

Online JPortici

• Super Contributor