Author Topic: Adding new parts to MPLAB  (Read 10057 times)

Offline itdontgoTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • IoT Manufacturer
Adding new parts to MPLAB
« on: February 05, 2016, 08:17:11 pm »
Hi,

Our new board uses a PIC16F18325 instead of the 1825 we've used up to now.  I installed MPLAB X and it's like a kids toy and I really can't take to it.  Sure it's better but I don't like it.  I won't be writing software myself in a few years so I'm against giving it a go if I'm honest.

Is there any way of adding new devices to MPLAB 8.92?

• Regular Contributor
    • IoT Manufacturer
Re: Adding new parts to MPLAB
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2016, 08:28:32 pm »
I really don't like this thing.  Old MPLAB nice and simple, straight forward.  Good for 8-bit chips.  This is no good.  I'm not a programmer I'm an electronics engineer.  What is all this rubbish?

Online Howardlong

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2016, 08:41:01 pm »
I do agree, MPLAB X is a lethargic fat kid compared to MPLAB, the nimble old timer with a few odd nasty character traits you get used to. While it is possible to modify existing chips to pretend to be others in MPLAB, it's an uphill battle and you have to hope the programming and debugger interface for the new chip is the same.

More and more I am suffering MPLAB X, you do get used to it, and it's a lot better than it was four years ago when they first released it. It's only really in the last year or so that I'd really consider it production strength.

On the plus side, those PIC16F183xx chips are really pretty nice, I've been using them pretty extensively over the past month or so.

• Regular Contributor
    • IoT Manufacturer
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2016, 01:37:31 pm »