Author Topic: Advice on fpga, cpld or psoc. The next step  (Read 18669 times)

Offline hneveTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • http://www.neve.nu/
Advice on fpga, cpld or psoc. The next step
« on: June 23, 2015, 08:01:05 am »
I'm going out of my mind, I'm looking for something new to play with and have been thinking about fpga's then I found cpld's that's much cheaper and now I look at psoc and I get swamped.

I want something that has a lot of possibilities that doesn't cost the shirt of my back to play with. I'm a hobbyist with a ee degree 20yrs since that never got any use before I started with arduino a few years back. Now I would like a new challenge but I get so frustrated, there is so much to choose from and I'm kinda lost.
Can we have a discussion about which of these technologies would be a "natural" step up from uC.
And I'm not thinking of arm uC's ;)

A though about price v.s performance and abilities wouldn't hurt I guess.
73 de LB4NH

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: Advice on fpga, cpld or psoc. The next step
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2015, 08:21:40 am »
I'm going out of my mind, I'm looking for something new to play with and have been thinking about fpga's then I found cpld's that's much cheaper and now I look at psoc and I get swamped.

I want something that has a lot of possibilities that doesn't cost the shirt of my back to play with. I'm a hobbyist with a ee degree 20yrs since that never got any use before I started with arduino a few years back. Now I would like a new challenge but I get so frustrated, there is so much to choose from and I'm kinda lost.
Can we have a discussion about which of these technologies would be a "natural" step up from uC.
And I'm not thinking of arm uC's ;)

A though about price v.s performance and abilities wouldn't hurt I guess.