Author Topic: Aldec Active-HDL  (Read 5569 times)

Offline TNbTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Aldec Active-HDL
« on: February 20, 2014, 02:15:14 pm »
Hi! I recently discovered Aldec Active-HDL development environment, it seems quite good and usable, but I just wonder why does it exists in the first place? I mean, does anybody use it in the industry? Because usually I see vendor-specific environments like Quartus II, Xilinx ISE or Actel one. Is there any reason why somebody will use this Active-HDL instead of Quartus II + Modelsim?

Offline Stonent

• Super Contributor
Re: Aldec Active-HDL
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2014, 04:48:55 pm »
I hadn't heard of them but since I'm not an engineer, that would play a big part in it.  I read some things on their site and the wikipedia article http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aldec

It looks like they tend to focus on making it easier to transition from FPGAs to custom ASICs. Also it looks like they have some integration with Altium. 
The larger the government, the smaller the citizen.

Offline miguelvp

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2014, 07:42:20 am »
Going through the Quartus II training I've noticed that you can use Active-HDL as a replacement simulation among others. Quartus II comes with an altera edition of modelsim but you can go under Assignments/Settings/EDA Tool Settings and change the simulation to use Active-HDL (default tool is set to none)

You can override the the synthesis as well as other aspects of the flow. On the Altera training they even said that you might want to use third party tools that will obtain better results.

So Altera gives you tools but if someone makes a better tool then why not let you use them (of course you might need to pay way more for those tool chains)