Author Topic: Arduino mega 2560 or STM32F4-Discovery  (Read 18387 times)

Offline lmtfreakTopic starter

Arduino mega 2560 or STM32F4-Discovery
« on: December 06, 2013, 06:39:09 am »
I'm new to microcontroller and I want to learn about it. On my local shop the Arduino mega 2560 and STM32F4-Discovery both are cost 20$. Can anyone suggest me which board should I buy to get me started?

Some projects I want to do with microcontroller:
Led dimming
Led Matrix
Temperature sensor
Real time clock
Turn on and off led with hand clapper
Control servo motor
LCD display
Mp3 player
Image processing
Speech recognition
« Last Edit: December 06, 2013, 06:44:43 am by lmtfreak »

Offline Bored@Work

• Super Contributor
Re: Arduino mega 2560 or STM32F4-Discovery
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2013, 06:46:27 am »
Arduino: Toy for those who want to copy, not learn.

STM32F4-Discovery: Like all similar boards: Difficult if you never worked with micro controllers before, normal stuff if you have.
I delete PMs unread. If you have something to say, say it in public.
For all else: Profile->[Modify Profile]Buddies/Ignore List->Edit Ignore List

Offline lmtfreakTopic starter

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2013, 07:05:23 am »

STM32F4-Discovery: Like all similar boards: Difficult if you never worked with micro controllers before, normal stuff if you have.

Do you mean with Arduino I can easily work with my projects but not learned much, with STM32F4-Discovery hard to work but learned more about microcontroller?

Offline AndreasF

• Frequent Contributor
    • mind-dump.net
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2013, 07:32:52 am »
If you're completely new to microcontrollers, you're probably better off with the Arduino initially. One thing you can (and should) do with it is to leave the Arduino IDE and libraries behind and do more direct low-level programming.