Author Topic: ARM Offers Sage Advice to RISC-V Adopters  (Read 9297 times)

Offline ali_asadzadeh

• Super Contributor
Re: ARM Offers Sage Advice to RISC-V Adopters
« Reply #50 on: July 17, 2018, 12:03:30 pm »
Hi :-) I've been a member here longer than I've been at SiFive. I'm not a founder or manager or spokesperson or anything like that, just a pleb programmer. All opinions are most definitely my own. I liked the tech and its possibilities so much I joined the company.
That's great news! ;) what sort of prices should we expect for the RISCV parts?
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline janoc

• Super Contributor
« Reply #51 on: July 17, 2018, 05:33:40 pm »
So I don't believe AMBA is restricted to ARM only.
It is not at the moment, but given the obvious hostility of ARM, why even risk it. What if next version of the specification does add restrictions specifically for RISC-V? And in the mean time you have abandoned your own bus infrastructure.

If the next version adds whatever restriction it can't be applied retroactively to the older specifications. You just may not be able to use the latest spec - which is not necessarily a problem, AMBA is an on-chip bus that isn't exposed to anything else, so if you want/need to change to something else in the future, you can without anyone else but you being affected during the development of the new product.

If anyone could change their terms retroactively and then sue you based on that, any license documents wouldn't have the worth of the paper they are written on. So in that regard you should be safe, IMO.

Anyway, I didn't want to get into the debate whether or not someone should start using AMBA, that's a cost/risk & benefit assessment that everyone needs to make themselves. I only wanted to say that there certainly are non-ARM products using the specification.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2018, 05:37:39 pm by janoc »

Online ataradov