Poll

What compiler is better for ARM ?

Keil uVision
IAR Workbench

Author Topic: ARM starting platform  (Read 21320 times)

Offline alin_imTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
ARM starting platform
« on: July 20, 2016, 08:58:02 pm »
Hey guys ,

I am a freshly graduate student and I want to spent my free time by programming some ARMs to improve my coding skills.

I was thinking of purchasing one of those 2 boards: STM32L476G-DISCO or NXP FRDM-KL46Z. What do think or recommand ?

I wanted a platform that is compatible with mbed.com because I want to start with that and the progress to IAR or GCC.

The STM board is a much powerful Cortex M4 instead of a M0+, but at this point I do not think it matters because I do not have a project in mind which requires features that M4 has and M0+ hasn't. I just want to start working with ARM 32 bit micros and "master" the interrupts and timers and communication protocols (SPI, I2C and UART especially).

In the past I just worked with Atmel and Microchip 8 bit micros (about 3 years of experience).

Regards,
Alin
One man's 'magic' is another man's engineering. 'Supernatural' is a null word. - Robert A. Heinlein

Offline MosherIV

• Super Contributor
Re: ARM starting platform
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2016, 09:10:05 pm »
Hi

The  Disco is not mbed compatible (or was not the last time I looked, I noticed that they disconntinued the one I have and launched a new version)

Try this one
https://developer.mbed.org/platforms/ST-Nucleo-F401RE/

Mbed is nice in that it has lots of developed drivers and easier to start framework but that also means it sheilds you from getting to know the ins and outs of CortexM development, such as the CMSIS.
mbed is better for developing projects quickly

I would highly recommend IAR because it is all integrated and just works. You will have to understand the processor or you will not get far, but do not worry there are lots of examples and support out there.