Author Topic: Audio Reverb with Cortex M4  (Read 3792 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Audio Reverb with Cortex M4
« on: December 13, 2018, 04:51:57 pm »
Hi,
Recently I have done several cool DSP projects based on CMSIS and PCM audio data on M4, like FIR filters, Graphic Audio Equalizer, FFT and some compression etc... Now I want to implement Reverb Effects on the PCM, do we have some good algorithms to do that, preferably I want it to be done with the CMSIS DSP library. any Ideas?
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Online SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
Re: Audio Reverb with Cortex M4
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2018, 06:30:21 pm »
Don't expect to achieve high-quality reverbs on a Cortex M4. Those can take a lot of processing power.

One of the simplest yet acceptable algorithms I know of and have used is the Schroeder reverb algorithm:
https://valhalladsp.com/2009/05/30/schroeder-reverbs-the-forgotten-algorithm/
https://www.dsprelated.com/freebooks/pasp/Schroeder_Reverberators.html

It uses relatively simple DSP blocks that you probably already have, and can probably run on a Cortex M4 depending on the number of filters you'll use.

The following users thanked this post: ali_asadzadeh

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2018, 07:35:33 pm »
Thanks for the help. ;) :)

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2018, 08:31:28 am »
It seems they have removed the Code links, And I can't find them, do you have them yourself?

Offline Jan Audio

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2018, 05:02:55 pm »
Use prime numbers only.

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2018, 07:18:51 pm »
Use prime numbers only.
What do you mean?

Offline MT

• Super Contributor
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2018, 09:31:45 pm »
You can do excellent sounding reverb with F4-F7 and it has been done by several people.