Author Topic: Automotive: Engine Control Unit microcontroller  (Read 11383 times)

Offline Electrical_EngineerTopic starter

Automotive: Engine Control Unit microcontroller
« on: February 14, 2017, 08:05:53 pm »
Hi guys,

I am new on this forum. I am an electrical and computer engineer but I have just started to study embedded systems. I have worked as a engine calibrator for a big automotive industry but I want to move on and go to the next level if possible. I have read some ECU types by using some specific tools. They used infineon tricore, MPCx5xx and others (Renesas as far as I can remember). I am really novice on electronics but I have started to mess with an ARM CORTEX M4 TM4C123GH6PM. As far as I can understand there is a memory map. 256 KB ROM where the C instrctions are stored, 32KB RAM where data and variables are stored, some other memory for I/O and for internal I/O (please correct me if I misunderstood something). Now, as a tuner I used to modify just a specific area of memory where the "maps" were stored. My question is:
Are these maps stored as data/variables in RAM (EEPROM maybe not sure)?How can you identify maps through hex code and find their use?(like a turbo pressure controller map for example or a torque limiter).Is there a pattern?Is there a specific procedure that has to be followed?

Sorry for my silly questions but I am intrested in having a deep understanding on how ECUs are built,how are they programmed by OEM engineers and how they can be reverse engineered.It's an embedded systems so it has to be structured.It's not science fiction :)

Online hans

• Super Contributor
Re: Automotive: Engine Control Unit microcontroller
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2017, 08:33:38 pm »
The TI controller you're referring to is an empty micro controller. It's like a computer without any OS, let alone applications you want to run. The software that runs on it is proprietary to the ECU vendor, specific microcontroller chip chosen and the hardware it runs on.