Author Topic: AVR C  (Read 6642 times)

Offline bogdan2013Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Always is someone better than you !
AVR C
« on: February 21, 2013, 01:37:54 pm »
I'm a beginner of programming MCU and I know only basics . I want to learn more about this programming language .
On some scripts I saw this commands :

voilatile
TTCR
TIMSK
uint8_t
TCNT

What are doing each ?

P.S. : If you know a website or something where I can learn more about AVR C (without basics) you could send me a message or a reply here .

Offline firewalker

• Super Contributor
Re: AVR C
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2013, 01:55:01 pm »
Have a look at the tutorial bellow.

http://www.fourwalledcubicle.com/AVRArticles.php

Alexander.
Become a realist, stay a dreamer.

Offline olsenn

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2013, 01:56:30 pm »
Call me weird, but I don't even like to use the stdint.h as I like to use the least amount of code I'm unfarmiliar with as possible. Things like uint8_t I would just instantiate directly (volatile unsigned char).

As  for TTCR/TIMSK/TCNT... these represent the registers in the IC and the values that are stored in them. Your AVR IC at its lowest level is not a general purpose device (say like an FPGA) but rather dedicated hardware which needs to be configured prior to use. Things like interrupts, timers/counters, UART, ADC etc. need to be set-up by writing values to specific registers in the chip. Download the .pdf datasheet (full, not summary) for your device from Atmel's website, and read the ENTIRE thing. This will explain everything for you.

Until you get the hang of things, I'd highly recommend starting out with a simple reference design (blinking an LED). Make sure you understand what each line of the example code is doing. Once the light turns on (literally and metaphorically) you will be ready to begin your own adventure into the world of microcontrollers. May the force be with you!

Offline bogdan2013Topic starter