Author Topic: ICE basic vs ICE... Which one should I buy?  (Read 6100 times)

Offline Porama6400Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
ICE basic vs ICE... Which one should I buy?
« on: May 20, 2018, 09:16:49 am »
I am a student so I don't have a lot of budget.
Which one should I buy when compare functionality and price? I will use them for both programming and debugging.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2018, 02:50:58 pm by Porama6400 »

Offline firewalker

• Super Contributor
Re: AVR Dragon vs ICE vs ICE MKII... Which one should I buy?
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2018, 10:13:41 am »
ATMEL-ICE. Not the plain board version though. It is better in every aspect.

Alexander.
Become a realist, stay a dreamer.

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2018, 03:30:32 pm »
ATMEL-ICE. Not the plain board version though. It is better in every aspect.

Alexander.

Why is plain board version bad?

Offline firewalker

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2018, 04:18:00 pm »
It is not bad. It is more sensitive, without any cable and adapters. I guess you could easily 3D-print a case.
Become a realist, stay a dreamer.

Offline tsman

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2018, 04:47:29 pm »
No experience with the later revision AVR Dragons but the early models were very fragile. It was fairly easy to kill the boost converter chip.

Offline Mr. Scram

• Super Contributor
  • Display aficionado
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2018, 04:54:27 pm »
The consensus seems to be that the ICE is a better programmer.

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2018, 03:57:33 am »
So should I buy ICE basic

ICE basic
https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/microchip-technology/ATATMEL-ICE-BASIC/ATATMEL-ICE-BASIC-ND/4753381

or the pro one
https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/microchip-technology/ATATMEL-ICE/ATATMEL-ICE-ND/4753379

Seem like the difference is adapters, isn't it? It is ridiculously expensive adapter, do i need it?

Offline Mr. Scram

• Super Contributor
  • Display aficionado