Author Topic: AVR Programmers/Debuggers - Which to buy?  (Read 5067 times)

Offline yami759Topic starter

• Contributor
AVR Programmers/Debuggers - Which to buy?
« on: March 29, 2015, 03:58:05 am »
Hello! As a student, I have a pretty tight budget, and was looking to buy a proper AVR programmer (Arduino isn't exactly cutting it for me any more). I have noticed some third-party programmers, such as the Sparkfun Pocket AVR Programmer or Adafruit USBtinyISP AVR Programmer, but, especially with the Sparkfun one, I'm not sure how reliable and supported these will be. If anyone has experience with them and could recommend one, I'd love to be able to get one as a cheap solution. Unfortunately, I don't suppose it will be that easy. The very popular AVRISP mkii seems to be discontinued, and the next options I had seen were the AVR Dragon and Atmel Ice, both of which also act as debuggers. The Dragon, I believe, is not actually fully assembled when purchased, and has no accessories, and rather you are meant to solder your own components to it. The Ice seems to be an enclosed programmer/debugger at double the price (I have absolutely no idea on the usefullness/differences in that respect are, help would be greatly appreciated). The Ice is out of my budget, but there seems to be an Ice Basic Kit at about half the price, with the main Ice unit and the main cable, missing the adapter board and breakout cable. How important would these be (they are probably pretty important for a $40 cut)? Any help with any of these would be extremely appreciated. Thanks in advance  :D

Offline Robartes_m

• Contributor
Re: AVR Programmers/Debuggers - Which to buy?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2015, 09:46:29 am »
If low budget is your main driver, you can't get better than a USBasp. There are Chinese versions of it available on eBay for less than 5$, or you could even build one yourself as all the schematics and code are available at Thomas Fischl's site:

http://www.fischl.de/usbasp/