Author Topic: Boost converter using a PIC16F1503?  (Read 1952 times)

Offline void_errorTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
Boost converter using a PIC16F1503?
« on: January 02, 2017, 06:55:41 am »
I'm hacking one of those 10W LED projectors to have adjustable brightness so I can use it as a bench light which means ripping out the 230V AC input current source SMPS and building a 12V input boost converter as the 10W LED has 9 series LEDs.

Because the space for the electronics is limited - roughly 40x70mm - and I don't want to design and etch a PCB I'm planning to build it on a protoboard which means mostly through-hole parts except maybe a few passives. I also want to control the brightness using two pushbuttons and have undervoltage lockout and switch current limiting.

What's the best approach using the PIC's built-in hardware modules? I might have room on the board for an extra dual comparator too if needed.

Datasheet here.
Trust me, I'm NOT an engineer.

Offline JPortici

• Super Contributor
Re: Boost converter using a PIC16F1503?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2017, 07:29:21 am »
stop right there!
use 16f1823 for developement. same part, but with integrated debugger. you'll thank me later.
if you check the 16f177x series page (for example: 16f1776) you'll find a lot of app notes on the subject

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2017, 08:01:28 am »
I've previously used the 16F1824 & 1825 with the debugger but for a completely different application which allowed freezing code execution, so I think I'll be just fine without an integrated debugger as long as I use a GPIO pin as a debug output and scope it with my crappy analog scope. Can't stop the code execution here because i'll probably blow my mosfet up.

Found one of the app notes.

Perhaps I should switch to the 16F1704? It has 2 op amps which might make current sensing a bit easier. I'm quite clueless here.

• Frequent Contributor