Author Topic: cheap way of interfacing 5V PCI to Spartan 6  (Read 2727 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
cheap way of interfacing 5V PCI to Spartan 6
« on: March 05, 2017, 09:37:40 am »
Hi
I have used  330ohm series resistors in the PCI signals and connect it directly to Spartan 6, Does it a viable option? I do not wanna use level shifter chips to save cost.
Do you have any other idea?
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline legacy

• Super Contributor
  • !
Re: cheap way of interfacing 5V PCI to Spartan 6
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2017, 03:25:26 pm »
330ohm series resistors in the PCI signals and connect it directly to Spartan 6

I say - No!

Offline asgard20032

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2017, 03:32:33 pm »
A resistance only limit current, you need a voltage divider if you want to limit the voltage.

Also, high speed digital (everything above 20 MHz) don't like any such thing, such as voltage divider and other low cost / easy thinking way of voltage conversion. Those usually limit the transition speed of the signal, because of capacitance and inductance effect. Almost everything is a Mosfet... if you put a resistance, you also limit the gate charge and discharge time. There must be a better way to connect 5V PCI to Spartan 6... Doesn't PCI use LVDS interface ? There exist transceiver for that, and in fact, I never heard anything connected to PCI or PCIe without a transceiver. Some FPGA even got the transceiver, so no need for an external one.

EDIT: PCI doesn't use LVDS. It use 3.3 V signaling. Just use a voltage converter.

EDIT EIDT: PCI can either be 3.3V or 5V. Check your system to be sure. Also, you will need some bidirectional converter for some of the line.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2017, 03:37:48 pm by asgard20032 »

Offline legacy

• Super Contributor
  • !
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2017, 04:05:02 pm »