Author Topic: Compare different microcontrollers  (Read 13933 times)

Offline jnz

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Compare different microcontrollers
« Reply #25 on: April 05, 2016, 05:25:47 am »
Did it really take 17 posts before anyone pointed out that the ARM is 32bit?

I honestly feel bad for the poor souls devoting a second of their lives to learning PICs.

Offline joefarad

« Reply #26 on: April 06, 2016, 06:27:40 pm »
Hey EEVbloggers!

I'm an engineering student, and I had a discussion with one of my professors about different microcontrollers...
So last year, I had to make a working DC-engine, starting with only 2 magnets and an inductor, and everything needed to be powered from a microcontroller.
For that job, an easy Arduino Uno did the work, everything worked fine, 1000 rpm at only 5V with constant current of 75mA, could lift 3 kg (=6.6 lbs) without a problem.

This year, I need to make a power supply, an audio amplifier (class AB) and a constant current load all in 1 single machine, driven by a single microcontroller.
The professor said we needed to use the cy8ckit-049-42xx, with the reason that it's a quite nice microcontroller and easy to program...

The next week, I had a question, when I asked it at the professor, at one point I said: "For testing my code, I used a simple Arduino to try it out", and the professor answered that Arduino is trash!

So now... If you have something to make with a microcontroller (in general), which controller would you choose? The biggest, most powerfull one? Or would you look at only what you need?

Just some quick numbers:  :blah:

Other things:

Other things:

Really... Prototyping on Arduino is a useless endeavor, it isn't in any way close to your target platform.  You might as well program your project in javascript and run it on your IE browser for all that you will gain trying to prototype your project on an Arduino.