Author Topic: DDR controller  (Read 10737 times)

Offline rubenvannTopic starter

DDR controller
« on: August 01, 2016, 02:53:11 pm »
I tried to be concise, but still this turned out to be quite a wall of text. The first paragraph can be skipped, it only provides information about my background :).

I'm a computer engineer with a computer science background (basically, I don't know too much about electrical engineering: I'm trying to learn that on my own, but I'm struggling). Last year, I took a class where we had to work on the plasma softcore processor. This was my first encounter with FPGAs, and while I have to admit is was no 'love at first sight', I ended up buying a cheap FPGA (the mimas v2, which I can definitely recommend for people who want to experiment with FPGAs), downloaded Xilinx Webpack ISE, and started to do some really basic stuff. I first started messing around with the clock and VGA port, and I was able to generate a 640x480 VGA signal, and display a 128x128 picture using block RAM pretty easily. Ideally, I would want to have a fullscreen frame buffer so that I can output more interesting things (and in the end for higher resolutions too, but hey, baby steps!). Since there is not enough block RAM for a fullscreen buffer (and I would like memory with enough bandwidth to support at least one read/write port for a processor, and one read port to read the screen data), I started looking at the RAM module on the board (a Micron MT46H32M16LF or a Winbond W949D6CBHX6E, which seems to be a clone). I tried to use Xilinx MIG to generate an easier interface to access memory, but the interface that was generated had even more input signals than the RAM module. So, I downloaded the datasheets (Micron and Winbond), some examples (1, 2, 3, 4), and started learning about SDRAM and DDR controllers.