Author Topic: DSP - recommendations for up to 150kHz, several bandpass filters needed  (Read 4755 times)

Offline robinaspeyTopic starter

Hi DSP folks,
I have no experience with dedicated DSP and the most  I have done is implement windowed moving averages filters for
PIC and AVR. I have various embedded experience but nothing with dedicated DSP.

My next project will be sonar. I am wanting to monitor dolphin and whale communications which will require monitoring
a number of frequency bands for different characteristics such as ranging and their normal chitchat. The long range frequencies
will be as low as 20Hz and the highest frequencies will be 150KHz for ranging.

Basically I will need to monitor in parallel to do an assessment with a range of DSP filters that I can change the center
frequency and width of bandpass. There are other aspects as will be explained.

I expect to get the least phase distortion so an FIR would be best. So this leads me to what hardware (processor type or
even FPGA) might be best. If it could be done on an FPGA to have several parallel channels that would be great although
with little experience in DSP I am expecting a TMS320 variant will be best for FIR up to 150kHz.

The polynomial filter coefficients may also need to change dynamically. For example I may want a search  function where a channel
scans continually and then on finding a signal it sets the filter coefficients for center frequency and channel width to start
recording on a channel using a parallel DSP. It then continues to scan to survey the available signals within its range.

Anyone with recommendations for a DSP (ideally low-power) and whether this could be done in FPGA... all comments welcome
even if not entirely complementary of my DSP knowledge or lack of it.

The DSP will also need to be able to write to a micro SD card, and I would also like D/A output to help test the filters. One