Author Topic: Easy and small Linux ARM platform?  (Read 11189 times)

Offline casper.bangTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Pro SE, amateur EE.
    • BangBits
Easy and small Linux ARM platform?
« on: August 21, 2014, 11:13:13 am »
Ok so I had a bunch of fun with ATiny and GCC, but now I think I want to try out some basic prototyping with a real OS, preferably ARM + Linux territory. I'm a software developer and my needs are purely academic of nature, to understand and get some hands on experience with low-level systems programming. What are the easiest and smallest platform candidates for doing this, preferably with a very low power usage? Raspberry? BeagleBoard?

Offline Cside

• Regular Contributor
  • !
Re: Easy and small Linux ARM platform?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2014, 11:17:28 am »
ive used the beaglebone black extensively and its really awesome.
we made a few capes for it without problems.
with an LCD and usb modem working it does draw a hefty current so consider that if doing embedded work.

Offline dannyf

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2014, 11:24:46 am »
Raspberry? BeagleBoard?

Yes.

Or those TV usb-sticks, or arm-based phones. etc. The difficulty is to find documents and to program them.
================================
https://dannyelectronics.wordpress.com/

• Frequent Contributor
  • Pro SE, amateur EE.
    • BangBits
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2014, 12:07:26 pm »
Or those TV usb-sticks, or arm-based phones. etc. The difficulty is to find documents and to program them.

Yeah I actually have an Android USB-stick for HDMI with a Rockchip, but the toolchain and driver story is a nightmare - Chinese vendors do not understand that using copyleft software also require them to disclose their stuff under the same license!

Offline bwat

• Frequent Contributor
    • My website
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2014, 03:04:32 pm »