Author Topic: Encryption in Assembler  (Read 3750 times)

Offline branadicTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Sounds like noise
Encryption in Assembler
« on: August 14, 2017, 11:43:41 am »
Hi to all encryption experts out there,

given a DSP running at 100MHz with:
- SRAM/OTP (program memory): 4k x 8bit
- Accumulator: 3x 48bit (ACCU A, ACCU B and ACCU C)
- RAM: 44x 48bit registers + 4x 48bit special function registers
- ALU: (COSZ)

and a very reduced instruction set:
- add, sign, sub
- resetWDG, powerOnReset, nop, stop
- bitC, bitS
- rad, clear, load, load2exp, move
- div, mult
- shiftL, shiftR
- jsb, jrt
- jcd, jCarC, jCarS, jEQ, jNE, jNEG, jOflC, jOflS, jPOS

being part of a sensor ASIC, with sensor frontend and interfaces such as SPI and I²C, I'd like to check out the potential to encrypt sensor data, before they are sent via interfaces. As you can see the DSP is only programmable using Assembler.
As I'm not a software expert nor familiar with encryption I'd like to get your feedback on what is possible. Thank you guys for all of your feedback.

-branadic-
Computers exist to solve problems that we wouldn't have without them. AI exists to answer questions, we wouldn't ask without it.

Offline DrGeoff

• Frequent Contributor
    • AXT Systems
Re: Encryption in Assembler
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2017, 11:52:09 am »
Encryption itself is not too difficult. If you can use a block cipher then AES128 would probably work as it was designed for ease of implementation (I have written versions of it in assembler for PIC16 chips) and is fast and efficient.

However, the key management part of it will be where the thought needs to be applied. An encryption system needs to have strong key management to be able to handle assigning and loading of new keys, prevention of revealing the keys, handling a compromised key etc etc.

Was it really supposed to do that?

• Super Contributor
  • Sounds like noise
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2017, 01:34:16 pm »