Author Topic: externally triggered time counter in verilog  (Read 4041 times)

Offline fabioacostaTopic starter

externally triggered time counter in verilog
« on: November 03, 2014, 04:15:14 am »
Hi I'm new to the fpga world, just got a Xilinx Spartan 3E and started playing around with it in verilog with ISE design tools.

My frustration came when I try to use 2 external triggers to activate counters. My goal is to make a program that when given 3 posedges of a push button in a range of 5 seconds turns on a led. If the 5 seconds go and there haven't been 3 events from the push, resets and restart the process.

I tried to code this and the concept was something like this

Always@(posedge push)
**if first push then flag=1**

Always @(posedge clock)
** if flag==1 then start counter
       **check function for pushes and time reset

This had the issue that I had to change registers on both blocks so I've been told to put both processes in one block. The problem with it is that I don't see a way to make the push posedge work since the clock is always faster.

Is there a way for me to activate a clock counter after another posedge event and make it synthesizable. I know for a fact this is a possible implementation  using a counter that controls another one via reset or enable and I would just make it through schematic if it wasn't for the absurdly large counter that is needed with a 50Mhz clock.

Please help me with this and I'll be eternally grateful.

Offline jahonen

• Super Contributor
Re: externally triggered time counter in verilog
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2014, 11:04:40 am »
You'll need to synchronize the push signal to your clock so that they have guaranteed (or almost, excluding metastability probability :) ) timing relationship. Then generate "edge flag" for the push signal. I suck at verilog so in VHDL something like

Code: [Select]

signal push : std_logic;
signal push_rise : std_logic;

push_sync: process(clk, reset)