Author Topic: Figuring out the PWM pins on SAM D10 MCU  (Read 1837 times)

Offline anvoiceTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Figuring out the PWM pins on SAM D10 MCU
« on: February 07, 2018, 07:33:26 am »
Hello, I'm selecting an MCU for a brushless servo controller, which means I need 6 PWM outputs as well as some ADC inputs for current detection (plus some pins pot or quadrature encoder or pot, depending on which route I go). I'm currently looking at the ATSAMD10D14 SOIC20 package (datasheet is too big to attach, but is one of the first hits on google searching for that MCU), which seems to have the desired characteristics, but by looking at its datasheet (yes, I'm not very good at it yet) I can't determine which pins are the PWM pins. The analog pins are marked on the pinout, so those should be the ADC (I see 6 of them), but the rest are just marked as digital pins. It would be my assumption that the PWM pins would not be on the same pins as the ADC, but I'm not certain. If they overlap I wouldn't have the proper number of pins to control my motor. Can someone help me interpret this? Any help is most appreciated.

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: Figuring out the PWM pins on SAM D10 MCU
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2018, 08:02:16 am »
Look at the table "Table 6-1. PORT Function Multiplexing". TCCx/WO[y] are your outputs. There are only a couple of ADC channels that don't intersect with TCC outputs, but if you don't need all the outputs, then you can save more ADC channels.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2018, 08:03:47 am by ataradov »
Alex

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2018, 08:37:37 am »
So if I'm reading it correctly, there are 10 ADC channels. Which pins are PWM-capable though? I believe the specifications for the MCU claim something like 8 PWM channels, if they all intersect with the ADC that could be a problem.

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2018, 08:39:56 am »