Author Topic: Forum name typo fix request  (Read 14090 times)

Offline miguelvp

• Super Contributor
Re: Forum name typo fix request
« Reply #25 on: July 10, 2015, 03:32:45 pm »
I pretty much do read every post, doesn't everyone? But that's beside the point.

Maybe a piece of knowledge that would help you is inside a badly written post or paper or blog, or even on an abbreviated text messages with a lot of LOLs and OMGs or even LOL's and OMG's ;)

As for Stephen Hawking, what I said is that he has communication problems. But regarding his papers, he uses assistants FWIW.

Anyways, you can decide what you want to filter out based on grammar, others don't mind, and if you think someone with bad grammar has nothing to contribute, well, that's your problem not mine :)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
« Reply #26 on: July 10, 2015, 07:09:06 pm »
This is a technical forum as long as the meanning is clear whats the big deal. I could understand if this was a writers forum or where a bunch of dweebs get together to argue what they perceive to be the important issues of the day but it isn't.

I know proper punctuation,grammar and spelling are considered by some to be a sign of intellegence but it could also be because english is not the persons first language or pure laziness.

I'm quite sure that your compiler will know what you mean when you screw up that annoying punctuation and syntax.

Offline Mark Hennessy

• Frequent Contributor
    • My electronics and audio website
« Reply #27 on: July 10, 2015, 08:18:09 pm »
To return to the original question, yes, there is no doubt that the apostrophe should be removed.

I help to run a forum, and I know from experience that it takes all of 10 seconds to change board titles. Admittedly, I'm not using SMF, but if someone tells me that it's more difficult to do that within SMF, then that's simply yet another reasons why I'm glad I'm not using it  >:D