Author Topic: FPGA Advice wanted.  (Read 15002 times)

Offline DubbieTopic starter

• Supporter
FPGA Advice wanted.
« on: July 10, 2016, 11:12:31 pm »
Hi,

First up, I'll admit that I'm wading into water a long way over my head here!

I have a project that I am working on where I need to time 16 channels simultaneously to ~ 10 nS resolution. I want to store these timings as 16bit ints somewhere, then once all a timeout is reached, set a "dataready" pin so that a microcontroller can read out the data via SPI.
The readout will only happen at 60 HZ so there is plenty of time for the serial transfer.

I figure that a small FPGA is perfect for this application. However I have never done anything with FPGAs before. I have a bunch of experience with microcontrollers. I also have a rough idea how the process of designing for FPGAs goes.

Can anyone recommend an entry level FPGA dev board that has good intro tutorials etc? I would prefer a chip that isn't BGA so I will have a decent shot of assembling a board myself.

I downloaded the free Xilinx software and had a brief poke around. It looks pretty user friendly.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Rhys.

Offline uncle_bob

• Supporter
Re: FPGA Advice wanted.
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2016, 11:25:42 pm »
Hi

Is this a one off or a production board? If it's a one off, forget about building a board yourself. There are a lot of places that will be happy to sell you an assembled board (built in the 100's) for less than what the parts would cost you (single piece).

10 ns impies a 100 MHz clock. That is not a big deal in the FPGA world these days. What *is* an issue is the design software. The manufacturers will happily give you free software to do this sort of thing on their newest parts. If you go off to eBay looking for boards or parts ... that's not what you are going to find. So: