Author Topic: FPGA configuration memory: Selecting appropriate size  (Read 9820 times)

Offline gregallenwarnerTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
FPGA configuration memory: Selecting appropriate size
« on: August 11, 2014, 04:34:44 pm »
I've been studying FPGA design and VHDL programming for several months now. I've successfully designed, built, and used little CPLD based devices, and now I'm needing to use an FPGA for greater logic capacity. I'm looking at FPGA configuration memory IC's on Mouser right now (Altera brand), and I'm seeing various sizes ranging from 1M to 32M. How do you know how much configuration memory your compiled VHDL program will require? Does the Quartus II software display this anywhere after compiling the design so I know which IC to buy? (Sorry if I'm overlooking something obvious. I'm still learning the feature set of Quartus.)

Thanks for your help.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: FPGA configuration memory: Selecting appropriate size
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2014, 04:43:30 pm »
I've been studying FPGA design and VHDL programming for several months now. I've successfully designed, built, and used little CPLD based devices, and now I'm needing to use an FPGA for greater logic capacity. I'm looking at FPGA configuration memory IC's on Mouser right now (Altera brand), and I'm seeing various sizes ranging from 1M to 32M. How do you know how much configuration memory your compiled VHDL program will require? Does the Quartus II software display this anywhere after compiling the design so I know which IC to buy? (Sorry if I'm overlooking something obvious. I'm still learning the feature set of Quartus.)