Author Topic: FPGA Design Methodology?  (Read 4659 times)

Offline iry100fanTopic starter

FPGA Design Methodology?
« on: April 12, 2018, 01:35:38 am »
Hi Everyone,

I am fairly new to FPGAs and CPLDs.  I bought a couple of development boards to play with and have made a few simple projects. Since I have no formal schooling with programmable logic, I am curious on how professionals or talented individuals attack implementing a design.

Up to now, I have been envisioning the functions that I want to implement as discrete logic, almost as if I was going to build it with 74XX series logic.  While this has worked for me with small projects, it does seem to be like I am designing the project twice.  Once on paper using logic and then again in VHDL.  Is this bad practice?  Is there a better methodology?  Or, is this just basically how it gets done?

(Hope my question make sense.)

I appreciate the feedback.

Thanks
-Brian

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
Re: FPGA Design Methodology?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2018, 02:49:23 am »
There are different levels of abstraction you can look at the project through. Generally you'll only be designing very simple stuff at the gate level, for more complex things think about it in terms of overall behavior. You might look up behavioral modeling and register transfer level and see if that makes sense. You should also look at any existing code you can find and see how it's done. If you design it on paper first it will generally be a sort of high level block diagram.

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2018, 02:04:49 pm »
Gate logic isn't all that interesting.  It's not until we can create sequential circuits that we can move along to Finite State Machines (FSMs).