Author Topic: FPGA. Possible to create arrays that are saved in external SDRAM?  (Read 1716 times)

Offline BoscoeTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
FPGA. Possible to create arrays that are saved in external SDRAM?
« on: September 29, 2016, 08:28:14 am »
I don't think this is possible but it would be great if so! I wonder if there's a bit of HDL that will interface my memory controller which means I'm able to write and read to variables in my code that are being held in external SDRAM and not in the memory on the FPGA or in LEs?

I have some experience in FPGA/HDL but maybe only on the level of dabbling in MCUs like writing your own basic register interfaces etc. and not using libraries and such. My project usually consist of a few modules and do basic functions.

So in System Verilog we could write to an element in an array like so:

foo[0] <= bar;

just in my case I would like 'foo' to me located in the external memory.

Is this possible?

Offline ale500

• Frequent Contributor
Re: FPGA. Possible to create arrays that are saved in external SDRAM?
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2016, 09:07:04 am »
Verilog doesn't provide a construct like "regname <= value" for a SDRAm target, you have to use a memory controller for that.

Offline AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2016, 10:27:01 am »
It can't be that simple. An SDRAM controller is a complex beast, with variable latency depending on what the SDRAM happens to be doing at any given time. It might be fetching some other block of data at the time you need something, or it might be refreshing, or it might be idle awaiting a read request, or the data you want might already have been read as part of a recent burst, and doesn't need fetching from the SDRAM at all.