Author Topic: FTDIgate 2.0?  (Read 382583 times)

Offline Gabri74

• Regular Contributor
Re: FTDIgate 2.0?
« Reply #250 on: February 02, 2016, 10:56:20 am »
Talking about counterfeiting.... I've already seen this type of uniforms... and
the slogan kinda remembers me of something... but I just can't recall....    :-DD

Offline rasmithuk

« Reply #251 on: February 02, 2016, 11:39:21 am »
I'm not a Windows expert, but I believe those are translation/textual string resources used for the system event log. Messages are logged by code, so there wouldn't be a direct xref there, instead that's a table that maps codes to strings and something inside Windows itself does the mapping - so yeah, they can't use sprintf, this is Windows' dumb design I think? (someone with more Windows knowledge might be able to correct me here). I did find the logging code earlier, and what triggers it, but didn't check if it is indeed logged on my windows box. I just did and yeah, it's there:

The windows event log takes a few fixed parameters, to make sorting/filtering easier, and then a raw string.
Apart from a list of standard error codes on the fixed fields you can put whatever you want into the raw section, which is assumed to be human readable text.

Offline FrankBuss

• Supporter
    • Frank Buss
« Reply #252 on: February 02, 2016, 11:57:25 am »
The linux drivers are not made by FTDI. They are made by the linux community. That's why they've never had any issues with bricking clones, and will even undo the bricking done by the FTDI drivers.

... and I assume most of the frustration is rooted in the fact that Microsoft never managed to provide a generic USB-Serial device driver.
Starting with Windows 10 you don't need a custom driver or INF file anymore. Still required for Windows 8.1 and older, see here. Maybe in 10 more years, USB will be fully plug-and-play, as promised 20 years ago :)
So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish