Author Topic: Future proof FPGA start board (<$300)  (Read 4737 times)

Offline hans_oberTopic starter

Future proof FPGA start board (<$300)
« on: April 29, 2018, 06:19:35 pm »
Help me select a FPGA starter board! I'm new to FPGAs and wanted to buy a dev board to learn with.

I can buy from element14 (Newark, $300 budget is because I've got some leftover credit that needs to be used).

I was looking at the Arty A7 boards by Digilent, but then I noticed that the Arty Z7 which has a Zynq SoC was available for a little more. I want to buy a future proof board, something that I can use for more complex projects a little later. I've got experience with microcontrollers, so I'm looking for something that's easy to begin with (eg Arduino), but something that I can still use in a year or so (capable of complex designs eg STM32).

I'm looking at starting with basic digital design at first, and will then move on to more complex stuff like soft-cores, motor control & image processing - so how many LE's & memory should the board have?

• I noticed that certain Zynq board come with a SDSoC voucher. For what would I need to use SDSoC (my understanding is that I can use Vivado to program the PL). Also, the SDSoc voucher increases the cost of the boards by $10, whereas buying a SDSoC license from Xilinx is ~$1000 - so I might as well get a board with the voucher if I'll need it.
  • I can't find any definite difference between the Series 7 Spartan & Artix. Besides the differences in LE, what are the differences between these parts (hierarchy wise)?
  • If I buy a Zynq based board like the MiniZed, Arty Z7 or Zybo Z10, would the ARM core be any additional to deal with (especially in the beginning when I'm learning)?
  • How's the DE0 Nano Soc?
  • I wanted to play around a bit with video, but it looks like I can use a VGA PMOD adapter on any of the Xilinx boards.

Online asmi

• Super Contributor
Re: Future proof FPGA start board (<$300)
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2018, 07:10:24 pm »