Author Topic: General C programming question  (Read 8305 times)

Offline NW27Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
General C programming question
« on: July 19, 2018, 12:43:54 pm »
Hi,
Q1. In the source file that has the main() function, is there any particular reason to have the function prototypes followed by the main() followed by the actual functions?
Why not just put the complete functions above the main and dispense with the prototypes completely?
The only thing I have encountered is that you need to be mindful of the function ordering ie called functions must be above the calling code. Otherwise I do not see any advantage.
Note - I was a pascal programmer before becoming a C programmer.

2. How many people have a header file for the main() source file and what do you use it for?

Thanks,
Neil.

Offline NivagSwerdna

• Super Contributor
Re: General C programming question
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2018, 12:55:47 pm »
1. Declaring explictly is handy for clarity but also allows forward references which can be useful is a and b call each other.

2. Mostly. Putting the declarations in a header file means they can be reused elsewhere and sprinkling #ifdef to prevent issues with being #included more than once.

Z80

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2018, 01:03:01 pm »
Protoypes allow you to use functions before they are defined (many reasons to do this).  For a simple program with everything in order you don't need to use them (unless you are using a really old pedantic compiler).

Headers are there for global declarations.  Declare global variables, includes and function prototypes.  Again for a simple program it probably seems overkill, but when things get more complex, they are very useful.

Offline Kjelt

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2018, 01:17:15 pm »
In a main.c file it is more readable when the first actual function is the main() itself. First digging through all the other functions is a bit PITA.