Author Topic: Getting started with Embedded Linux?  (Read 7937 times)

Offline ChristopherTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Getting started with Embedded Linux?
« on: March 20, 2015, 05:19:39 pm »
Back in a previous life (or job) I was a linux software engineer for desktop applications.

Then I became an electronics guy working on MCUs and analog... Now I want to join the two together.

I want to design from scratch (for fun!) a modular embedded linux system, so no OpenWRT etc. Basically I don't wanna start with something like a raspberry pi and remove software features, I want to start with a simple buildroot and build on it.

--

My first step is to choose a simple board. My requirements are not too taxing: just an ethernet socket and some GPIO. The Carambola 2 uses a Atheros AR9331, for which I can only find OpenWRT.... Is this a good choice?

Any tips?

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: Getting started with Embedded Linux?
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2015, 05:41:43 pm »
Here is a good tip. Go with an evaluation board from a chip manufacturer. You still will be able to do stuff yourself, but you will also be able to get help long the way in case you need it. After all that's what those boards are for.

I recommend Atmel ATSAMA5D3 Xplained (http://www.atmel.com/tools/ATSAMA5D3-XPLD.aspx) it is cheap and has all the software support you will need. I do work for Atmel, so my opinion is biased, but the board is neat nonetheless.

Alex

Offline legacy

• Super Contributor
  • !
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2015, 08:38:45 pm »
The Carambola 2 uses a Atheros AR9331, for which I can only find OpenWRT.... Is this a good choice?

no

Offline ChristopherTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2015, 08:41:51 pm »
Atmel ATSAMA5D3 Xplained
Not bad. Only £60 from farnell. Shame none are in stock though..  I tried to get a sample board through work from Future Electronics a few weeks back but no dice.