Author Topic: Git or Mercurial for Embedded Development  (Read 12203 times)

Offline Sal AmmoniacTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Git or Mercurial for Embedded Development
« on: December 10, 2015, 05:17:17 pm »
I want to upgrade from CVS to a modern version control system. I've narrowed my choices down to two: Git and Mercurial.

I'm a hobby embedded developer and don't collaborate with others on projects. I want a distributed version control system rather an a centralized one (like Subversion) because I develop on multiple machines from multiple places and would like to use github or bitbucket to host my repositories so I don't have to set up and maintain my own server.

For a single developer, which one of these would be the best choice? Since I only work on my own projects, I don't have any need for complex merging of other people's code.

I do all of my development on Windows, and am comfortable with both command line tools and GUI tools and use both interchangeably.
Complexity is the number-one enemy of high-quality code.

Online Monkeh

• Super Contributor
Re: Git or Mercurial for Embedded Development
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2015, 05:24:50 pm »
git. It's a well proven tool in large scale use.

I have seen a number of projects abandon Mercurial.

Offline hamster_nz

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2015, 05:25:52 pm »
I want to upgrade from CVS to a modern version control system. I've narrowed my choices down to two: Git and Mercurial.

I've used Git For Windows and add TortoiseGit (https://tortoisegit.org/) for shell integration (i.e lots of options on Windows Explorer's right-click menu). Works pretty well for me.
Gaze not into the abyss, lest you become recognized as an abyss domain expert, and they expect you keep gazing into the damn thing.

Offline dferyance

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2015, 05:26:31 pm »