Author Topic: HDMI passthrough on Digilent Atlys - timing issues?  (Read 1628 times)

Offline NiHaoMikeTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • "Don't turn it on - Take it apart!"
    • Facebook Page
HDMI passthrough on Digilent Atlys - timing issues?
« on: May 25, 2018, 07:28:10 am »
I started playing with my Digilent Atlys board some more to continue learning Verilog and FPGAs. I decided to try the HDMI examples found here:
https://joelw.id.au/FPGA/DigilentAtlysResources
The pattern generator pretty much just worked when I loaded the code, but the HDMI passthrough behaves strangely.

Signal source: Raspberry Pi programmed to output 720p, ignoring EDID.
Display devices used for testing: Viewsonic monitor, Brookstone pocket projector, Seiki 4K monitor.
Other HDMI devices tried in setup: Two different HDMI splitters, LG wireless HDMI kit, LKV373A HDMI over Ethernet kit.

Results: when routing signal through FPGA, only the Brookstone and the Seiki are able to receive the signal and do so without any glitches. The Viewsonic switches the LED to active but does not display an image. The LG and LKV373A simply stay at "no signal". The splitters do pass through the signal without changing the behavior of the devices connected to them - e.g. if the Brookstone and the Viewsonic are connected, each behaves as if they're directly connected to the FPGA. In all cases, if the FPGA is taken out and replaced with a passive coupler, everything works as expected.

Any ideas how to debug it?
Cryptocurrency has taught me to love math and at the same time be baffled by it.

Cryptocurrency lesson 0: Altcoins and Bitcoin are not the same thing.

Offline hamster_nz

• Super Contributor
Re: HDMI passthrough on Digilent Atlys - timing issues?
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2018, 01:44:57 am »
Is the Pi generating HXMI or DVI-D? I bet it is HDMI.

The FPGA is expecting DVI-D, so the HDMI data islands are causing breaks in the Hsync Vsync pulses on the output.