Author Topic: Help reducing sleep current in PIC10f322  (Read 9739 times)

Offline davekraTopic starter

• Contributor
Help reducing sleep current in PIC10f322
« on: November 12, 2015, 02:20:45 pm »
I'm making a magnetic switch using the PIC10f322 and a Hall sensor.  The idea is for one of the outputs of the PIC to power the sensor and a different output to drive a FET.
The PIC would poll the sensor every 1/2 second then go to sleep.
I'm not having problems with the code to do this or getting the PIC to go to sleep, but I am having trouble with excessive current draw when in sleep.

For a test circuit I simply have an LED/resistor connected to the PIC.  Nothing else. 
I've tested pull-up and pull-down of all unused pins and the internal weak pullups but the current remains around 100uA.
The program lights the LED for 2 seconds then sleeps for 8.
The current draw is 100uA in sleep.  I really need this to be 1 - 2uA or less as this will be battery powered.

This is my first time working with a PIC and probably should have chosen a basic PIC rather than a mid-range as I'm not using any of the extra features but shouldn't I still be able to get sleep currents in the single digit uA's?

I think I'm turning off all the features the datasheet says will affect sleep current but would like some help.

Thanks
davidk

The PIC is a 10f322.  Using Mplab X IDE3.10.  XC8 for the compiler.
Code: [Select]
#include <xc.h>
// #pragma config statements should precede project file includes.
// Use project enums instead of #define for ON and OFF.

// CONFIG
#pragma config FOSC = INTOSC    // Oscillator Selection bits (INTOSC oscillator: CLKIN function disabled)
#pragma config BOREN = OFF      // Brown-out Reset Enable (Brown-out Reset disabled)
#pragma config WDTE = ON        // Watchdog Timer Enable (WDT enabled)
#pragma config PWRTE = OFF       // Power-up Timer Enable bit (PWRT enabled)