Author Topic: Help working out logic analyzer protocol  (Read 1489 times)

Offline sl46Topic starter

Help working out logic analyzer protocol
« on: June 13, 2018, 10:37:14 am »
Hi,

Firstly I am new to any of this and therefore looking for some help to decipher what (if any recognized) protocol is in use here.
In summary, I have a hot-tub from which I am trying to intercept the signals (actually via a second port from the controller board) and decode these such that I can a) capture the sensor data and current status of various parts of the tub and b) potentially control this remotely.

So far, I have a cheap logic analyzer and have sampled each of the cables and it doesn't seem to need more than 1Mhz to caputre what is required.

I have been assuming that the controller may be using SPI but when I look at the traces I am not sure if this correlates and my experience with SPI is minimal to zero at the moment.

Could anybody advise if the traces look like they are SPI or if not what else they could be. There are 5 cables that appear to be active (after removing the 5V and ground) and therefore not sure what the 5th one would be.

I have included a couple of images of the trace - the first is 2 seconds worth at 1Mhz and the second is the same trace but zoomed in to cover approx 60 ms.

Thanks

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: Help working out logic analyzer protocol
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2018, 10:41:09 am »
Looms like uart with flow control at a glance. Rx tx cts rts

« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2018, 10:46:34 am »
Thank you.

I have put these into the protocol decoder in the order you stated and get frame errors for each frame. That said, I know nothing about UART so will read up on that first to get a better understanding of how it works and see where I get to.

Thanks

« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2018, 11:41:18 am »
Sorry - I just cant seem to make sense of this and mapping it to UART.