Author Topic: how can I test a Mini USB STM32F103RCBT6 Leaf Maple Board?  (Read 2243 times)

Offline not1xor1Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
how can I test a Mini USB STM32F103RCBT6 Leaf Maple Board?
« on: January 02, 2018, 05:12:00 pm »
Hi

I've just received a couple of these cheap boards I ordered a while ago:

Since I have no previous experience with this kind of boards, I am looking for some suggestions about how to check if they are fully functional and work correctly.
BTW I'm a linux user.

thanks

Offline donotdespisethesnake

• Super Contributor
  • Embedded stuff
Re: how can I test a Mini USB STM32F103RCBT6 Leaf Maple Board?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2018, 09:03:32 pm »
Basic test: plug it in, the LED should flash.
Then download Arduino IDE, and the stm32duino core. Write a blinky and download it.
Next level is to toggle all the IOs and check they are toggling with a scope I guess.

I have a few of those boards, they have been decent quality. It's worth doing a visual inspection for bad soldering.
Bob
"All you said is just a bunch of opinions."

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2018, 05:21:48 am »
Basic test: plug it in, the LED should flash.
Then download Arduino IDE, and the stm32duino core. Write a blinky and download it.
Next level is to toggle all the IOs and check they are toggling with a scope I guess.

I have a few of those boards, they have been decent quality. It's worth doing a visual inspection for bad soldering.

OK... thanks  :)

Offline stj

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2018, 02:49:48 pm »

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2018, 06:50:39 am »
start here:
http://www.stm32duino.com/

yes ... thanks
I subscribed yesterday...

it looks like I can't load any sketch on the board because of an invalid dfu executable
opening the file with an hex editor I see references to 64 bit libraries but I'm running 32bit linux

Offline stj

• Super Contributor