Author Topic: How do i switch clock in a PIC32MX? (AKA:why doesn't it switch)  (Read 4312 times)

Online JPorticiTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Hi, unfortunately the microchip forum isn't being helpful. Only answer i received so far was a reminder of a thing clearly stated in the datasheet :/

This is my first project wit ha PIC32 that has gone over the "tinkering" phase.
I am using a PIC32MX530F128H (because it's the cheapest MCU with both CAN and USB that i feel combfortable using)
The MCU is being clocked at 48MHz with a 8 MHz crystal oscillator.

FSCM and Clock Switching are enabled. In case of an oscillator fail the FSCM will automatically switch to the FRC, issue the Oscillator fail interrupt and then the code should perform the switch to FRC+PLL and keep the unit running at 48 MHz.
-The accuracy of the FRC should be good enough in the temperature range not to cause problems until the next power cycle
-USB Module can be clocked by either the FRC (8 MHz) or the USB PLL or POSC. It is said that to function properly the module must be clocked at 48 MHz, but then again they let you use the FRC. I think in this case the USB module would work as a LS device. Fine with me. USB is a feature, not the main feature.

My problem is, i can't perform a clock switch.
I tried following the procedure written in the datasheet, looked at code examples, which used libraries (i go bare metal) and i made sure that my code was the same as the code produced by the library, but nothing.

I created a project where the device boots in PRI+PLL then tries to switch to FRC. Pic Hangs after clock switch enable. If i run in debug mode the PIC halts at the clock switch enable (note: no breakpoints set) and if i single-step i see the COSC bits remain unchanged, it hasn't performed the switch.

XC32 v1.44
Device: PIC32MX530F128H
Datasheet: http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/60001290E.pdf
Errata: http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/80000616C.pdf