Author Topic: How do they pump 500Msps with an ordinary FPGA (spartan 6) into a DAC  (Read 9928 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Hi,
The Siglent SDG5000 Function Generator Teardown  was quiet fascinating. but I wanted to know how do they do it with a low Cost FPGA assuming that Siglent  may have used a spartan 6 device because of the price point! so what's the trick? when you synthesis a normal counter inside the FPGA it would not go much more than 100MHz!

Code: [Select]
reg [15:0] cnt;
always @(posedge clk) cnt <= cnt+1;
Any Ideas?
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline Lukas

• Frequent Contributor
    • carrotIndustries.net
By doing things in parallel. An FPGA may not be fast enough to generate 500M 8bit samples a second, but it can do 100M 5x8bit samples. The DAC in the SDG5000 has a 16bit parallel LVDS interface, the only thing running at 500MHz/1GHz are the transmitters in the FPGA. They've got built-in serializers that take a wide data stream from the FPGA fabric.

Offline codeboy2k

• Super Contributor
... and don't forget it will be pipelined.  I would say that's the key here.

Those 5 x 8 bit counters operating at 100 Mhz are not merely operating in parallel, they are going to be pipelined so they each generate one 8 bit sample staggered at 1/5th phase shifts (with respect to each other)

The rough timing diagram below should make it clear.
Each rising edge of a cnt entity gives one 8-bit output at a rate of 100 MHz . Taken together you get 8-bit samples at 500 MHz.

( timing done online at http://wavedrom.com/editor.html )

{
 signal: [
  {name: 'cnt1',   wave: '01.........0.........1....|',node:'.a...................f'},
  {name: 'cnt2',   wave: '0....1.........0.........1|',node:'.....b'},
  {name: 'cnt3',   wave: '0........1.........0......|',node:'.........c'},
  {name: 'cnt4',   wave: '1..0.........1.........0..|',node:'.............d'},