Author Topic: How to code PWM  (Read 2087 times)

Offline DVXTopic starter

• Contributor
How to code PWM
« on: March 06, 2017, 06:28:38 pm »
Hi,
My MCU PIC32 at 80Mhz has all the hardware PWM modules (outputs) assigned to an LCD display and they can not be remapped. I have written some code to use a timer + Interrupt to generate a PWM output on a port pin in proportion to a variable which can range from 0-100, the pin will feed a back light on the same LCD display to control the back light brightness. I have some knowledge for how PWM works but I don't know the best way to code this, so any help is welcome.

My thoughts are as follows:

10 steps for PWM control each step represents 10% change in display brightness from 0 to 10 steps = 100%

I have set a timer to generate an interrupt every 5ms and toggle a pin high and low, code is inside the interrupt routine, so fast and code size should be small. At 5ms or 0.005 sec I should get 200 pulses / sec, I check this on my scope and it is 100 pulses/sec or 100Hz as maybe rise and fall edges are counted.

There needs to be a framing period over which the PWM works and then repeats, so for my ten steps above, it will repeat every 0.1 sec, or give 10 frames /sec. Anything less than 25 frames / sec or preferably 50 frames /sec will produce flicker, so a higher frame rate is better. My example has 10 frames /sec which is too low, but shows the concept.

From 0% and with each increase of 10% of PWM input the frame stays on for an extra pulse, so 40% = 40 pulses on and 60 off, 70% = 70 pulses on and 30 off. The output pin is set high at the start of the frame (unless 0 PWM), the PWM is / 10 to get the number of pulses per frame, then the code waits until the total number of pulse as been counted, it then resets the number of pulses variable, ready to repeat for the next frame, after waiting number of pulse to stay off. Then repeats.

// PWM for TFT level